120 V vs 240 V saunas: what the listings show
A 120 V sauna plugs into a standard household outlet; a 240 V sauna needs a dedicated circuit, which an electrician installs. We checked all 290 home saunas in our US listings: 90 state the voltage in their title or description, 200 do not.
By voltage
| Group | Listings | Median price | Median power (stated) | Lowest price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 120 V | 81 | $5,299 | 4.5 kW (2) | ***New 2026 Model*** Dynamic 1 Person (Compact) Ultra Low EMF FAR Infrared Sauna (DYN-1101-01 Elite), $2,890 at RecoSauna |
| 240 V | 9 | $14,451 | 8 kW (3) | Dynamic "Monaco" 6 Person Ultra Low EMF Far IR Sauna (DYN-6996-01 Elite), $8,671 at RecoSauna |
| Not stated | 200 | $8,671 | 8 kW (27) | Maxxus "Bellevue" 3 Person Low EMF FAR IR Sauna (MX-J306-01), $3,853 at RecoSauna |
By sauna type
| Type | 120 V | 240 V | Not stated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Infrared | 69 | 9 | 29 |
| Barrel | 10 | 0 | 24 |
| Outdoor cabin | 1 | 0 | 105 |
| Indoor (traditional) | 1 | 0 | 36 |
Read the table as a picture of what shops sell and say, not as a rule for a single model: many listings do not mention the voltage at all. Before you buy, check the electrical requirements on the product page or ask the shop, and have an electrician confirm your panel can take a 240 V circuit.
Filter by voltage directly: sauna finder. What the power costs in your state: running cost calculator.